RavenswoodSite Menu

The Joy of Christmas

The Joy of Christmas

Performed by Neal Ewers

Contents - The Joy of Christmas

This collection magically weaves together some of the most peaceful, relaxing carols of the season with those that are more joyful. Neal's lyrical performance of the quieter carols uses bells, cello, soaring violins, haunting oboes and other instruments to bring about a truly spiritual experience. His arrangements of the lively, more joyful carols keeps this peaceful spirit alive by delicately balancing the volume of the mighty pipe organ with harpsichords, flutes, bells, and other quiet instruments. His graceful yet sparkling playing of these well known melodies and their interplay with his original descants makes this a truly wondrous listening experience.

Get the Real PlayerWe invite you to sample some of the selections from this warm and peaceful collection. You'll need the free RealPlayer to play these Real Audio clips. Select the RealPlayer icon or visit the Real Networks Web site for further information. Real Audio files on this site were made at the lowest possible bandwidth for people with modems. If you have a fast connection and prefer to hear clearer, higher-quality MP3 format files, visit our MP3 Clips page. Note: Samples are not necessarily the first verse of the song. The few song titles on this CD that are duplicated on "Peace on Earth" have totally different arrangements.

  1. Joy to the World (2:06) Lowell Mason
  2. Sweet Little Jesus Boy (3:21) Robert MacGimsey
  3. The First Noel (4:22) Traditional
  4. Sussex Carol (1:33) Traditional English
  5. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (3:46) Traditional
  6. Away in a Manger Medley (5:51) Traditional
  7. Angels We Have Heard on High (3:00) Traditional
  8. Lullaby for the Christ Child (2:47) Neal Ewers
  9. We Three Kings (3:00) John Henry Hopkins
  10. I Saw Three Ships (1:59) Traditional English
  11. O Sanctissima (5:31) Latin Hymn
  12. Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella (1:21) Traditional French
  13. Song of Hope and Promise (4:03) Neal Ewers
  14. O Little Town of Bethlehem (3:47) Lewis Redner
  15. Ding Dong! Merrily on High (2:09) Traditional English
  16. Lo How a Rose (3:51) Traditional German
  17. What is this Fragrance (4:45) Traditional French
  18. Now is Born the Divine Christ Child (2:14)Traditional French
  19. All My Heart this Night Rejoices (3:06) Johann Georg Ebeling
  20. Good King Wenceslas (1:27)Traditional
  21. In the Twilight of an Evening (4:02) Neal Ewers
  22. Silent Night (4:10) Franz Gruber
  23. O Come all ye Faithful (3:28) John Reading

Total Time 75:37

Home | About Ravenswood | Articles | CDs | Fund Raising Opportunities | Order | Contact Us
Copyright © 1999-2014, Neal Ewers